The minister also reports to Parliament on behalf of the Federal Business Development Bank, the Export Development Corp. and the Canadian Commercial Corp. Boards and other organizations reporting to the minister are the Machinery and Equipment Advisory Board, Design Canada, the Standards Council of Canada, the Textile and Clothing Board, Metric Commission Canada, the Foreign Investment Review Agency, the minister's advisory council and the Canadian Footwear and Leather Institute.

Insurance, Department of. This department, which originated in 1875 as a branch of the finance department, was constituted a separate department in 1910. It is authorized and governed by the Department of Insurance Act (RSC 1970, c.I-17). Under the superintendent of insurance, who is the deputy head, the department administers statutes applicable to federally incorporated insurance, trust, loan and investment companies; provincially incorporated insurance companies registered with the department; British and foreign insurance companies operating in Canada; small loans companies and money-lenders; co-operative credit societies registered under the Co-operative Credit Associations Act; pension plans organized and administered for the benefit of persons employed in connection with certain federal works, undertakings and businesses; and life insurance issued to certain members of the public service prior to May 1954.

Under the relevant provincial statutes, the department examines trust and loan companies incorporated in Nova Scotia, trust companies incorporated in New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island and insurance and trust companies incorporated in Manitoba. The department also provides actuarial services to the government. It reports to Parliament through the minister of finance.

International Boundary Commission. The commission functions by virtue of a 1925 treaty between Canada and the United States and the International Boundary Commission Act (RSC 1970, c.I-19). The commissioners, one for Canada and one for the United States, are empowered to inspect the boundary, to repair, relocate and rebuild monuments, to keep boundary vistas open, to regulate all work within 3.05 m (metres) of the boundary including structures of any kind or earthwork, to maintain at all times an effective boundary line and to determine the location of any point of the boundary line which may become necessary to settle any question that may arise between the two governments. Each country pays the salaries of its commissioner and his assistants and the costs of maintaining the boundary are shared equally. The Canadian section comes under the energy, mines and resources department for administrative purposes but the Canadian commissioner reports functionally to the secretary of state for external affairs. The commissioners meet at least once annually, alternately in Ottawa and Washington.

International Development Research Centre. Established as a public corporation by act of Parliament (RSC 1970, c.21, 1st Supp.), the IDRC is an international organization supported financially by Canada. Its objectives are to initiate, encourage, support and conduct research into the problems of developing countries and into methods of applying and adapting scientific and technical knowledge to their socioeconomic advancement. A chief purpose is to help them develop their own research skills and facilities.

The board of governors consists of 21 members, 11 of whom, including the chairman and the president, must be Canadian. The IDRC reports to Parliament through the secretary of state for external affairs.

**International Fisheries Commissions.** The minister of fisheries and oceans reports to Parliament on Canadian participation in the several international fisheries commissions of which Canada is a member.

International Joint Commission. This commission was established under a Britain—United States treaty signed in January 1909 and ratified by Canada in 1911 (RSC 1970, c.i-20). The commission, composed of six members (three appointed by the president of the United States and three by the Government of Canada), is governed by five specific articles of the Boundary Waters Treaty of 1909. The commission's approval is required for any use, obstruction or diversion of boundary waters affecting the natural level or flow of boundary waters in the other country; and for any works which, in waters flowing from boundary waters or below the boundary in rivers flowing across the boundary, raise the natural level of waters on the other side of the boundary.

Problems arising along the common frontier are also referred to the commission by either country for examination and report, such report to contain appropriate conclusions and recommendations. Provided both countries consent, questions or matters of difference between the two countries may be referred to the commission for decision.

The commission for decision.

The commission was given responsibilities under the Canada-United States Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement of 1972 as amended by the international water quality agreement of 1978 to assist in the implementation of the agreement by monitoring the various programs referred to therein in regard to their effectiveness and progress. The commission established a Great Lakes regional office at Windsor, Ont., staffed by American and Canadian public servants; operating costs are shared equally by the two governments.

The commission reports to the secretary of state for external affairs of Canada and to the secretary of state of the United States.